Introduction

Apparently I’m a glutton for punishment. My guess is that I’m punishing myself because, four years after graduation from a far too expensive university, I’m still struggling to find a full-time job. How am I punishing myself, you might ask? By assigning myself unrealistic writing goals, of course!

For the past decade, at any given time, I’ve been working on writing or editing something be it assignments for class, novel outlines, novels themselves, and more recently, fanfiction. As a hopeful future bestseller (you know, if I ever get around to contacting agents and publishing companies) that only makes sense. But now I’ve been getting more in the world of blogs.

I have a book review blog that I’ve maintained off and on for awhile more now that I’ve been receiving ARC’s (advanced reader copies) of books from NetGalley. I have a fanfiction account where I vicariously live through book characters, usually Hermione Granger from Harry Potter. I also have another blogspot blog that is more non-fiction. A place where I write about anything and everything book and writing related in my life be it my thoughts on the recent Hunger Games: Mockingjay trailers, my favorite book characters, or my struggles to step into a new genre of writing.

But what I don’t have is a place to post creative things that aren’t related to a previously published book/movie/TV world. That’s the role that Tumblr is going to step into. This is where I’m going to post my attempts at poetry and short stories and the like.

And, on top of the other writing I expect of myself each month, that means that thousands upon thousands of words will be written by my hands. Oh dear, what have I done?

Leave a Reply

