Frankenstein to Mary Shelley

Writing Prompt: You are Frankenstein. Pen a letter to Mary Shelley about her novel.

Mrs. Shelley,

I must thank you most sincerely for sharing my story with the world though I am certain I will not be part of this world much longer. Will you continue my tale even after my death? I hope so. I want them to know the pitfalls of my folly, my obsession.

But one thing more. Can you not change the title to be less vague? I have heard from many who have the manuscript thus far and they are surprised that I, and not the Demon, am known as Frankenstein. A mistake I am afraid will be made quite a number of times over if future generations choose to read the tale.

Most Sincerely,

Viktor Frankenstein

Leave a Reply

