Doll Face by Tim Curran

Note: I received a free copy of Doll Face by Tim Curran from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have to admit right up front that I did not finish Doll Face but I did read 52% of it so I feel that gives me the right to express my thoughts about it.

I honestly have no idea what possessed me to request a book that mentions living dolls. I freaking hate dolls. (Well most dolls. American Girl dolls and one of the ones I had when I was younger weren’t bad.) But puppets and mannequins and ventriloquist dummies are a no. But for some unexplainable reason I did request the book.

The premise. Six friends end up stuck in a little town called Stokes. Only Stokes burned to the ground decades before and they are trapped in someones nightmare version of the town they used to know. I thought that sounded interesting. A little mysterious, a little scary.

And I do like psychological terror and a little bit of gore if necessary but this was full of Saw level gore. I flipped through the parts I didn’t actually “read” and the gore doesn’t stop from about 30% to the end. Brain matter, blood, pus…this book has it all. And (spoilers) this book even features rape perpetrated by a doll man.

When I reached a point where I literally could not finish my lunch because the descriptions were so gross I deleted the book. Sorry NetGalley and Tim Curran but I just couldn’t do it. Unlikeable characters, gore, sexual violence and dolls. No, no, no, and no.

And even if I was okay with the above when I skimmed the book I noticed something. Once the action started it was repetitive. Every character faced pretty much the same situation. There was never a lull, no sense of safety to up the terror. Just constant horror. Not my cup of tea.

I deleted this from my Kindle and will not recommend.

Leave a Reply

