Going to Camp, Part Two

It’s official; I have failed at National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) more than I’ve succeeded. Only that’s not really true, is it?

I may not always reach my writing goals but I do something just as awesome every NaNoWriMo and every month: I write. I believe what is up there under my blog name. “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.” Stephen King said that. It’s great advice. And I try to follow it as often as possible.

That’s why writing goals and groups are important. They get you used to writing. And if you want to be a writer then that’s a good thing to get used to.

Another reason I’m going back to camp? I’m starting a writing and coloring club at the library I work at so that patrons fifteen and older can join together to be creative. It’s only fair that if I convince people to join Camp NaNoWriMo, that I be involved too. So not only am I going to do it for myself but I’m hoping I can inspire other writers. I of course want to have my own work published someday but wouldn’t it also be cool if I inspired someone else to write and get something published?

So tomorrow, July 1st, I’m going to camp.

* If any blog readers are super interested as to whether or not I make my goal (28,000 words) you can get weekly, maybe daily, updates by following me on Twitter @crystal_mcneal

Leave a Reply

