To Read or Not to Read?

August 2015 Book Ratings

I try to write full scale book reviews about books that really get to me. Ones I hate, ones I love, ones that make me think. But sometimes I just don’t want to put the time and energy into a lengthy review of a book that was just okay.

So I’ve decided to do a ratings post at the end or beginning of each month. I’ll tell you everything I’ve read during a certain month and give each book a 1-5 star rating (1 being blah and 5 being awesome) and a sentence or two about plot/my thoughts.

So here’s what I read in August.

  • Dirty Rush by Taylor Bell
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This is a fictional piece portrayed as non-fiction about a girl rushing a sorority. It had every bad frat/sorority stereotype rolled into one and yet I couldn’t stop reading even though I know real life sororities aren’t like that. At least not where I went to college.
  • Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • A very well crafted mystery about secrets and death. I liked all the layers to the mystery but didn’t find it necessarily unique.
  • The Traitor in the Tunnel by YS Lee and Rivals in the City by YS Lee
    • 3 out of 5 stars for both books
    • The Agency series books are quick reads about a group of female detectives in Victorian England. They’re fun but can be anachronistic at times.
  • Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • This was one of the best mysteries I’ve read in awhile. There were secret societies, interesting relationships, and cyber bullying.
  • Monster Island by Christopher Golden
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This is a book based on the Buffy and Angel TV series. If you like the shows and don’t expect high quality writing then you’ll like it.
  • The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • A very lyrically written book about lost loves and people who love books.
  • Ms Marvel, Vol 2 by Willow G. Wilson
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • A fun little graphic novel which addresses a surprising number of normal teenage life questions.
  • The Creeping by Alexander Sirowy
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This book is about teenagers solving mysteries. There’s a love interest, a really bitchy character, and a few surprises. Pretty good but nothing too out of the ordinary.
  • The Sixes by Kate White
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • This is a run of the mill mystery with a sub-plot involving secret societies. I was hoping there would be more to it (Reconstructing Amelia had a secret society and was really good) but I just didn’t get into it. It didn’t help that White didn’t appear to have had a very good editor.
  • Spell Booked by Joyce Lavene
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • A quick little cozy mystery with magic. I liked the characters enough I may check out sequels if we get them in at the library but it wasn’t anything all that special.
  • Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • This book had an interesting concept and I love that the author combined the supernatural and the historical but it just didn’t flow right. There were too many questions that were never answered and entire sections that seemed completely unnecessary.
Leave a Reply

