Literary Musings

Limitations

When it comes to writing about certain things I am limited. I hate to admit that but it’s true and it’s a fact I never really realized until just this past summer. So how is it that I’ve gone years without really noticing that? Simple. I’ve been writing things that I know or about things that aren’t real.

Fantasy/supernatural is easy for me because there are no rules, not really. When I write about fairies I can pick and choose which “facts” I want to use. If I want my vampires to burn in the sun but have a loophole to that, then I can. If I want my fairies to be able to travel through worlds I can.

But when it comes to more modern things I can get a little stuck, especially science or technology. This became very clear when my fiance and I started watching Agents of SHIELD and I contemplated a FitzSimmons fanfiction.

For those of you who don’t know,  on the show, Agent Leo Fitz and Agent Jemma Simmons are geniuses. Literally. He’s into engineering and she’s a biochemist and when they talk on the show I sometimes can’t follow it because not only are they all scientific but it’s often alien science. So writing them true to their characters would take some research for me. And even with research I’m not sure if I’d be able to pull off their patented brand of science humor.

This also makes me question another of my novel ideas. The modern one involving a librarian is going pretty well and, I’m sure, will continue going well when I work on it during National Novel Writing Month but that’s because I have experience with working in a library. The novel I have planned about a medical examiner? Yeah, I’m not sure if that will pan out no matter how many episodes of crime scene investigations shows I watch.

So I’m going to have to decide. Write what I know and just accept the limitations that I have or try to do enough research to sound like I know something even when I don’t.

Leave a Reply

