I Want Historical Fantasy Fiction Movies

Lately we’ve had a rise in dystopian books becoming movies (Hunger Games, Maze Runner, and, in 2016, The Fifth Wave) and while those have been awesome I want to go in a different direction.

So what other direction am I talking about? The past.

I love historical fantasy fiction and think that some of the series I’ve read would make excellent movies or television shows…you know, if they were handled well. Two series that I think could work really well on screen? The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.

Now what do these two book series have in common? Victorian settings. The hair and costumes would be gorgeous. Old rambling but beautiful detailed settings. Supernatural elements. The magical world known as The Realms in the Gemma Doyle trilogy and steampunk, clockwork creatures in Infernal Devices. Good versus evil. Female empowerment. Those are all elements found in both sets of books.

That’s why I almost wish they were turning Infernal Devices into a show instead of The Mortal Instruments (another series written by Cassandra Clare…based on the same types of characters, just in a modern setting). I like watching movies about things that are hard to picture myself and I can definitely picture an urban fantasy New York setting better than I can picture a steampunk Victorian one. And Gemma Doyle would get to play with colors so much with the juxtaposition between Victorian London and The Realms. It would be eye catching.

For me I love the beauty of a historical setting and especially one with surprises, magical ones even? It could, very possibly, be amazing.

Leave a Reply

