Read-a-thon 2015

Today is my birthday and I have plans yet I am sad. Why? Because I am missing out on Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. (Heck, I’m not even around to write this blog post. I actually typed it up on Thursday and scheduled it to be posted today. So convenient.)

Just a few days ago I learned about the Read-a-thon and I thought, “Hey, that is perfect!” I already read all the damn time and it would be awesome to do it this year when I’ve been so into social media. Reading, blog posting, Tweeting about it all and doing it while hundreds of other people are doing the same? And I can win prizes?! Awesome! What a great concept! But then I discovered that the challenge/fun was taking place on October 17th, today, my birthday.

Now it’s not that I go all out on my birthday. Actually pretty much every time I’ve tried to plan something awesome it falls through. But not this year. This year I have a wedding to get to. I won’t be at my house at all. I’ll be at my fiance’s, and then we’ll be in a car and though I can read in a moving vehicle I can’t focus with three other talking/singing in said car. Then there’s the afternoon wedding and reception. I probably won’t even get a chance to read for an hour before I fall asleep like I do every other night. The day of the read-a-thon I will likely read zero pages.

So I’d just like to take the time to say that I think the idea is awesome and, hopefully I will be able to participate next year. Just please try and plan it for a weekend when I don’t have plans? (PS. That shouldn’t be too hard. The vast majority of my weekends are free. And I usually spend them reading. Just not for 24 hours.)

Leave a Reply

