October 2015 Book Ratings

So I was recently given the position of Head of Youth Services at the library where I work. Yay! But that’s also meant that I’ve been so busy that my blog has not/will not be posted in as often. And it will only get worse as I attempt to try National Novel Writing Month again. Yet I still want to let you know about the books, quite a few of them creepy, that I read in October. Now I’m not going to include the books I used in storytime though I have included them on my Goodreads for statistic purposes. I may actually do a separate post for those books each month if I can.

Well here goes.

  • Magic and Macaroons by Bailey Cates
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This is the fifth book in the Magical Bakery series and it was just as cute, but also just as unextraordinary as the other books in the series.
  • Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I love books about books and this was great! Lively characters and a perfect novel to have read during Banned Books Week. So much commentary on the power of the written word.
  • The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I like books that make you wonder exactly what’s going on and never actually answer that question. Was the family cursed? Was the ghost real? That’s what this book had.
  • Dead to Me by Mary McCoy
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This was a good book at the time what with the mystery and all that but not very memorable a month on.
  • Does This Beach Make Me Look Fat? by Lisa Scottoline
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Some of the stories in this collection were cute and/or funny but I fond most of them whiny, annoying, or just silly.
  • The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • This book was a good October suspense though it wasn’t nearly as creepy as I was hoping/expecting. The characters and setting were appealing.
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • So far as I can tell, Neil Gaiman can do no wrong. This book was very interesting and a quick read because of it.
  • The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • This was probably the creepiest book I managed to read this fall and I think that was because of the slow build. It was suspenseful creepy, would the ghostly interaction be good or bad?, and that’s my favorite kind.
  • The Devil and Winnie Flynn by Micol Ostow
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • I don’t like ghost hunting shows and since this was the book equivalent I didn’t really like this book either. And the ending made me wonder what was real and what wasn’t.
  • Neverland by Douglas Clegg
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • This book was weird and sometimes gross and I’m still not entirely sure why I even finished reading it.
  • Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • This was a quick read but sufficiently creepy. And that ending!
  • The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • I read this book because I’ve always kind of wanted to watch the movie (mostly because of Daniel Radcliffe). Now I wish I hadn’t bothered.
Leave a Reply

