November 2015 Book Ratings

  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I love books about writers and they are even better when the characters are as awesome and the writing is as well done as in this one. I will definitely be reading more of Westerfield.
  • The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This was your typical short story fairy tale with a girl power twist.
  • Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • A quick easy read that, one month later, I can barely remember.
  • Crimson Peak by Nancy Holder
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • I wanted to read this because the movie looked good but I can’t handle horror movies. The book version was good, and actually pretty creepy, but predictable. I had the major “twists” figured out less than a fifth of the way in.
  • Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer
    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • I didn’t hate the original Twilight but this “reimagining” was ridiculous and unnecessary.
  • Zeroes by Scott Westerfield
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • I didn’t find this nearly as engaging as the other Westerfield novel I read this month and likely won’t read other books in the series. I didn’t like the characters.
  • Poison by Bridget Zinn
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • This was a very cute little book and I’m sad that the author only got the chance to write the one. She had great potential.
  • Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • I had really been looking forward to this book after reading so many good reviews and yet something about it rubbed me the wrong way.
  • Cleopatra VII by Kristiana Gregory
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • This book about Cleopatra is one I reread this as part of a book challenge and it did not hold up to my memories.
  • Reformed by Ashley Beery
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • This was a quick read and interesting since it was partially set in the town I live in but I could tell the author was new. It needed another edit or two.
Leave a Reply

