To Read or Not to Read?

Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

Note: I requested a copy of Hunter from NetGalley months and months ago because I’ve read quite a few Mercedes Lackey books and I almost always love them. So I received a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get around to reading it! Now onto the review.

This is one of those books that I am struggling on rating. I am torn between two and four stars but I think I have to go with two because the story did improve as it went on.

I really wanted to read this book because I have read and loved so much from Mercedes Lackey. I did know that it would be a little different from her usual fare though based on the description. A little more sci fi/dystopian than her usual fantasy loveliness. So yes I knew it would be different.

What I did not expect was how utterly boring it would be for the first 30% or so of the story. There was so much background and exposition that I was taken away from the story. How many times did I have to read about the difference between real meat/food and the cloned kind? At least six times apparently. And the constant repetitions and the perfectly perfect main character. It all got a little tedious.

Fortunately it got better. By about 40% into the book I started to really like the characters and finally, at least mostly, understood the way the magic worked.

So when deciding upon the rating I went with a two out of five. I know that sounds bad but honesty, if this hadn’t been a NetGalley book I probably would have given up at about 25% through and therefore would have missed all the exciting parts. A book should reach the “I can’t put it down” point well before a fourth of the way through. I can understand why so many other reviewers didn’t even finish it.

I will possibly even read the rest of the series when it comes out but only if two things happen. 1: if the rest of the books come out before I’ve forgotten this one. (I will not be re-reading it.) And 2: if I can get the other book either through NetGalley or through the library.

Leave a Reply

