The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

I just now realized that I read this NetGalley book months ago and forgot to post a review and since NetGalley gives me free books to review…well I figured I better do that! So here it is:

Note: I received a free copy of The Book of Speculation via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I love books so much that one of my favorite type of books are about librarians or other book lovers. And this book had that. Only there was so much more including, but not limited to: possible prophecies and curses, circus/carnival folk with possible magical powers, scenes in the past and scenes in the present.

It all starts with a mysterious book sent from one bookseller to a struggling librarian. And the book ends up being personal, very personal for the librarian. Inside are secrets and curses and maybe even some magic.

This book was odd. The characters were varied but they were all a little blah, even when the situations they were tossed into were not. The past plots were so much more interesting than the “current” ones and the points of view changed every single time something started to get interesting. At first I thought this was a good ploy to keep the reader reading…but when each section is scads of pages long…well I kept forgetting how exciting the previous scene had been by the time I got back to it.

Some of the plot points were very interesting but I just didn’t get into it as much as I thought I would. I did like how everything tied in together at the end but the middle was just too much. Too wordy, too confusing.

Leave a Reply

