Library Life

Enthusiastic Readers

I have to admit that I am one of those people that get exceptionally upset when someone doesn’t like or misses the point of a book I love. (Semi-spoiler alert, do not read the next line if you have not read/seen Mockingjay and don’t want to be spoiled! Do people seriously think that Katniss really wanted another Hunger Games?! Um, no…she clearly only said yes so that Coin trusted her enough to let her carry her bow and arrow to the execution! Duh.)

However, I don’t really go out of my way to express my opinions other than in my own book reviews. Heck, I’d barely talk when we had book discussions in college and I was an English major and surrounded by other literary minded folk and therefore should have felt right at home. So basically what happens is that I hear something that bothers me and I just sit and seethe, or maybe I write a blog post, instead of actually speaking up.

So why is this important and what does it have to do with the title of this blog post? Well, in my new position as Teen Librarian I run a book club for the 11-15 year old crowd. At my old library I would not have gotten many, if any participants for such a program. Sure there were young people that truly did enjoy to read but they weren’t about to admit it in front of their peers. Gasp! The horror! But as I prep for my second Pizza and Pages book club meeting I can’t help but smile. Because, from what I’ve seen and heard, there is always a crowd of about 12-20 readers who show up for the book club. And I think that’s just awesome!

Not only do they excel in attendance but boy do they go out of their way to make their feelings about the book, and life, and other books that we were not reading for book club, heard. Last time it got a little rowdy but the vast majority of the time they were actually talking about the book. I’m willing to let a little noise happen if said enthusiasm is about reading since that is a great thing to get excited about! It’s just such a change from my previous job and I love it! I just hope I can get them to calm down a tiny bit on Thursday so that their not talking over one another so much.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

