Teen Writing Club

After May’s, mostly successful (darn you teenagers who don’t seem to realize when their teasing has gone too far…but that’s a whole other issue that I won’t be getting into right now) book club I think the library may be in need of a club of a different sort. A club that I would be more than happy to start up. A club that would be right up my alley.

So, what kind of club might that be? A writing club of course.

The book club started to wind down a bit early due to my lack of discussion questions and the fact that most of my little readers didn’t really get all that much enjoyment out of said book. (Which I completely understand…I only gave it a 3 star review and that was a bit of a stretch.) When it comes to book clubs you need something that is either totally awesome or bad enough that everyone finished it just so they could complain. Something just kind of meh leads to poor discussions.

But anyways…other than the little issue I hinted at in the first paragraph, the extra time was actually kind of nice because it gave me a chance to get to know the kids in book club. A whole group of them wanted to talk to me about book recommendations for the club and we ended up talking about the books and stories we’ve written ourselves. Which makes me wonder if some sort of teen writing club would end up working out. I’ve actually always wanted to try one but the teens at my last job would not have been receptive to such an idea.

Now, I would love to be able to coordinate something around National Novel Writing Month or Camp NaNoWriMo…but the next summer camp is in July, when we’re already full of Summer Reading Program events, and the actual NaNoWriMo isn’t until November and that just seems too far away. So what I plan on doing is asking at next month’s book club and hoping that they’re as into it as I am. It would be awesome if they were!

Leave a Reply

