Literary Musings

A Trilogy

Out of the dozens of novel ideas I’ve come up with over the years I’ve never wanted to do something that wasn’t stand-alone. Which is kind of odd since quite a few of my favorite stories are part of trilogies, sagas, or never ending, when the heck are you going to finish this George RR Martin? series.

Then I read Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard, the second book in her Red Queen series. I liked it enough that I’ll read the other books in the series before I pass too much of a judgement on it but that’s not why it’s currently so important to me as a writer. The importance lies in the fact that I really wanted to jump in the book and chance some of the plot points. I want the characters to do things other than what the author had them do. Not in an “I want to play with the characters and their situations” type of way that inspires me to write fanfiction because I just don’t love Mare and Kilorn and Cal and Maven as much as I love Harry and Hermione from Harry Potter or Natasha from the Avengers. No, I wanted to come up with my own characters and twist them how I kept hoping they’d be twisted in Glass Sword.

So that’s what I’ve started doing. I invented a world and started coming up with rules. I started a list of characters with names, ages, and physical descriptions. I have pages and pages of outlining already completed though it needs more work. A lot more work.

Now, all of these things I’ve done before but, in order to make a twist like I want, I can’t just have one stand-alone novel. I need to have a trilogy. That is something I’ve never done before but, as Toni Morrison said,  “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” I am writing those book(s).

Leave a Reply

