To Read or Not to Read?

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil

Right off the bat…The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl is set in Australia and I have to admit that it throws me for a loop sometimes when I read things set in countries on the other side of the world and wonder why in the world Christmas is in the middle of summer. But I digress. There are more important things to discuss than what hemisphere this book takes place on/in.

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl was a very interesting read. It had a pseudo-apocalyptic nature, graphic novel type illustrations, and elements of a coming of age nature. Alba, a comic drawing, baked goods loving girl has just recently graduated from college and though she clearly loves her life you can tell through context clues and introspective thoughts that she just doesn’t know what to do with her life. Which is completely understandable. But she has her family’s bakery and her best friends and life is good.

Until someone makes a prediction that the end of the world is about to occur and the only safe place to be is in Alba’s quaint little town. That’s when all hell breaks loose. But in a quaint, what in the world is going on? kind of way. Strangers, and old friends show up in town, throwing Alba and her life for a loop. It also brings up all sorts of thoughts. If the world is about to end, what should I do with my life? If the world isn’t about to end, what should I do with my life?

With a cast of truly epic characters who really did come to life through the illustrations between chapter breaks (a brilliantly done idea for the book) this was definitely a good read. I liked Alba and I liked her friends and I completely understood why she was freaking out. Change is hard. Growing up is hard. Making life decisions at 18 is hard. But even with an apocalypse on the horizon Alba perseveres.

Now…SPOILER WARNING.

My only complaint is the romantic elements I’ve read a lot of other reviews where everyone’s all “You’ll totally ship Alba and Grady. Such a cute couple” and all that jazz. No. It wasn’t until the last half of the book that I even really thought the author was going to go the relationship route because the signs just weren’t really there. Heck, the characters even when on a date when they were younger and thought it was gross but apparently Grady’s been in love with her the whole time? I didn’t buy it.

END SPOILER

But, issues aside, I really liked this book.

Leave a Reply

