Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2016

Yep, it’s true. I’m going to be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month for those of you who haven’t figured that out yet.) And just four days into the month and I’ve hit some stumbling blocks.

First, I’ve completely changed my mind on what I was going to do. Originally I’d planned on just starting a novel, the trilogy I began outlining just a couple months ago. And then I decided I’d work on the novel while also working on some of the fanfiction pieces I’ve been daydreaming about.

And then Game of Thrones ended and I binge watched The Shannara Chronicles and suddenly I have some pretty epic fanfiction ideas floating around in my head. Now, for some odd reason, I’m really good at picking up and leaving off novel ideas weeks or even months later but I can’t do the same thing with fanfiction. Which means that I’ve decided the entirety of my Camp experience this July will be about fanfiction. And why not? Technically anything goes during Camp. The trilogy can wait until November by which time I should have it further outlined.

The other thing that’s causing problems is that my left shift key just snapped off my laptop this morning and even my technologically savvy fiance can’t get it back on. And the only glue in the house won’t get the key back on so that means I’m stuck trying to find this tiny little nub every time I want to shift. That’s the second key my computer has lost though it’s the first one I actually need on a regular basis. Now I’m just waiting to see if I lose a vowel.

But other than that I’m ready to known this Camp session out of the park!

Leave a Reply

