Harry Potter Release Party: Before

I’d like to start out with an apology to anyone who reads my blog on a regular basis. Normally I try to be a bit more consistent with posting but I’ve been struggling a bit this month. That’s because not only is it a Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) session but it’s also July and July 2016 has the honor of being the month when the script for the Harry Potter continuation in play form, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is being released as a book. And in honor of said event, the library I now work at is hosting a midnight release party. Like literally midnight. I will be working Saturday until after midnight.

Now I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan and I’m not exaggerating at all. In fact, I can prove it…img_20140824_244052_595-2.jpgYep. I have a Golden Snitch tattooed on my leg. How’s that for commitment to a fandom? It’s literally permanently etched into my skin. So, needless, to say I am super duper excited about this midnight release party. Especially since I never got to go to one when I was younger because I lived in the middle of nowhere with no bookstore nearby.

But it’s been exhausting! And I’m not even doing as much as my fellow Youth Services Department coworkers. So far I’ve made up over 100 Chocolate Frogs (and eaten far too much chocolate while doing it…sorry waistline!) and I’ve print off coloring pages and I made a photobooth and Flying Keys and I’m still in the midst of portraits to decorate the library like Hogwarts.

So it’s been crazy and I’m torn between being deliriously excited and just being delirious. I have to be crafty for so long throughout the day that I just want to relax a bit before bed…which means reading and I had a really good book which meant staying up waaay past my bedtime.

Then again, I’m freaking getting paid to decorate a library like it’s Hogwarts and to dress up in costume and to hang out with other people who absolutely love the world too so I probably shouldn’t be complaining, right?

Leave a Reply

