Harry Potter Release Party: After

Saturday night, July 30th, was the midnight release party for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Actually that was the date of many a release party but the one I’m talking about is the one put on by my library. And oh boy was it a fun night! (Though, it being my first midnight release party, I’m a little disappointed I had to work and didn’t get to really participate.)

Well, first things first. When I was leaving my apartment to head over to the party to help decorate I missed a couple of stairs and stopped myself…with my face…hitting a wall. So that was fun. There were some tears and a few drops of blood but I was honestly mostly just worried that I’d messed myself up so badly my costume would turn out badly. But it didn’t. At least I don’t think so. What do you think?

20160731_011702-1.jpg
Me, as Luna Lovegood!

When I got to the library everyone was scrambling around putting stuff together and so I joined right in, to the point where I was finalizing my costume about 45 seconds before the doors to the library and then the mad rush began.

It was crazy! Our guesstimate was that we had around 260 people show up during the course of the night and most of them were there when the doors open which meant my job, catching people on the way in so they could get their maps, sign up for costume contests and book raffles, etc. was ridiculous right off the bat. So many people, so many Harry Potters and Hermione Grangers to direct to different areas of fun! I never even got a chance to really wander around or try the Butterbeer because sign ups and what not were just constant.

But even though I really didn’t get to participate much I still thought it was super fun (and a lot of the party goers told me it was!) and I can’t believe I got paid for it!

Leave a Reply

