Back to Hogwarts

Today is September 1st, a day where many literary minded folks will be thinking nostalgically about their love of Harry Potter because, if our letters hadn’t gotten lost in the mail, we would be going to or fondly remembering our journeys on the Hogwarts Express. Today is the first day of the new year at Hogwarts.

From an outsider’s perspective I’m sure that’s a little odd. That literally thousands (if you don’t believe me, check out the actual Twitter hashtag #BacktoHogwarts) are talking about going to a school that never truly existed. Heck, King’s Cross, the real life train station that was part of the series, even had Hogwarts listed on their destination boards today. And that’s because Hogwarts is real.

It’s not that we all think that the characters and locations and what -not actually exist but then again, they do because they exist in hearts and our imaginations. I know I, for one, literally grew up with Harry Potter and his friends. The books pretty much came out at a rate that I started reading them when I was more or less Harry’s age and, by the time the seventh book came out, I was still more or less Harry’s age. I am the Harry Potter generation. I laughed and I cried and I just felt so much for those books and they are still a huge part of me. I have so many emotions and memories attached to the experience.

And that’s what has so many people talking about Hogwarts on days like today. Hogwarts and a Harry Potter are a part of so many of us because that’s what reading and fandoms do. They suck you in and never let you go. I just love that. And I love the camaraderie of it, how every time a major event occurs and the fandom bands together I can’t help but remember J.K. Rowling’s quote: “No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

Leave a Reply

