And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

Note: I received a free copy of And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

After going through my unread NetGalley requests I realized that I had the perfect creepy October read in “And the Trees Crept In”. Or so I thought.

This book was a book about sisters and it was a book about madness.

Silla and Nori escape their abusive father and run off to their aunt Cath who lives at La Baume, a creaky old manor painted the color of blood. At first everything seems to be all fine and dandy but then strange things start to happen. Snakes appear in the toilets. Cath slowly becomes mad, insisting that the Creeper Man, an entity that her and her sisters brought to life long ago, is coming for them. And once Cath locks herself up into the attic things get even worse. Silla hears things and smells things she shouldn’t and she starts to worry about the Creeper Man to the point where she can’t leave the house even though they don’t really have any food.

This book had so many different layers and for an exposition on madness it was perfect. The unusual layout with words and thoughts literally spiraling out of control on the pages and the journal entries were interwoven in such a way that Silla’s descent into madness was a very visual thing. And I liked it though it may have worked better on an actual page instead of my old school Kindle. I like it when a book is written well enough that a character going to crazy starts to make me feel a little crazy with her. And Kurtagich certainly did that.

But then I reached the last quarter of the book and whoa. I don’t want to spoil anything but the layers of crazy and the answer of “what was really going” on got to be too much. There were too many reveals piled on top of each other with who the mysterious Gowan was and why he was finally there again, what really happened with both sets of sisters (the ones in the current time period and the ones in the past), what was really happening to La Baume and the passage of time. Gah, so hard to describe without giving everything away.

Let’s just say that, as I said before, this is a book about sisters and madness. Both aspects were written rather well and in an interesting enough way that I liked the book but I’m still confused about it.

Leave a Reply

