Literary Musings

NaNoWriMo 2016. Post 1.

It’s that time of year again. In less than two hours National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) will officially start and, once again, I’m honestly not sure I’m ready.

I had a plan, I really did. I was outlining an idea months ago. But then I started up a Teen Writing Club and actually have several teens interested in trying out the NaNoWriMo Young Writer’s Program  and I realized that I would have to change the plan that I had originally come up with at the beginning of the year. That’s because I figure a big part of getting the teens to motivate themselves will be to share details of my novel writing journey with them and well…my original plan for the month wasn’t teen friendly. Eek. So I had to table the plan and come up with another. And I did.

So I had about five pages of another outline all ready to go and I was feeling pretty good about that. It was only the first week in October and I had character sketches and plot points and all that figured out! And then October 25th rolled around and I lost all interest in that second novel and randomly decided I wanted to flesh out this other topic I’d come up with a long time ago.

Now my brain hurts. I have another outline complete and feel really confident about it but oh my words. If I second guess myself as much in the upcoming weeks as I did just picking my novel topic? Well, I’ll be back here at the end of November telling you all I got about 4% through my word count before I gave up. I just hope I don’t do that since I have some young writers to inspire!

Leave a Reply

