Literary Musings

NaNoWriMo 2016: Post 2

Good news first.

I introduced four teens to the Young Writer’s Program. One of them moved just after I got her started and signed up and then she disappeared from my classroom list (Kamryn…what happened? Why’d you back out of the class list? I was enjoying your story!) One wrote down her prompt on day one and hasn’t updated since. (That’s cool, I understand that life gets in the way of writing. Boy do I understand that.) And that leaves the last two who are steadily plodding along. And though their stories need some editing and what not they are actually doing a darn good job for being busy students!

Bad news?

I’m not doing so hot myself.

Sure my ideas are spewing out all over the place and I’ve had some crazy weird turns and plot twists. (Why hello there flesh eating demon and wait…suddenly you’re super sassy, and my favorite character of the whole bunch even though this is supposed to be a fairy tale-esque story flesh eating demon?! What is this madness?)  But even though the words are flowing they aren’t necessarily getting onto the page. You know, since they like to appear when I’m curled up in bed or in the bathtub or at work where writing isn’t necessarily that easy to accomplish.

Now I haven’t lost hope, not yet. We’re just over halfway through the month and my novel is 33% to 50,000 words. It’s still doable, I know it is. (Flashbacks to my first year of “winning” NaNoWriMo and the fact that I remember writing about 10,000 words in the last day and a half.) I can do it. I even plan on going to a Write In this weekend which might help me get caught up or might just end up distracting me more. Time will tell.

But I’m going to try. And that’s what counts.

Now back to National Novel Writing Month!

Leave a Reply

