To Read or Not to Read?

Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting

Disclaimer: I received a copy of Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

So, funny story about how completely unobservant I am in regards to my NetGalley account. I was looking over Goodreads, looking especially for a ghostly type book to read back around Halloween and found that Portraits of Celina was on my “to be read” list. Thinking the title sounded familiar I also checked NetGalley and realized I had requested the book. Back in 2014. Oops. Of course I hadn’t downloaded it to my Kindle in a timely enough manner but I decided to order it from the library’s Interlibrary Loan system and finally get it off my NetGalley shelf.

Now onto the review.

Portraits of Celina is more or less a ghost story full of secrets and revenge. The bulk of the story is set in modern times with Bayley’s family moving into a new house. This is the house where Bayley’s mother’s cousin Celina lived before she went missing forty years before the main story starts. Only, Bayley starts feeling compelled to wear Celina’s old clothes and finds out that her dead ancestor may not be completely gone after all.

The past and present were woven pretty nicely and the characters were nicely written as well. The “haunting” was more believable than in some other supernatural tales though it made for some rather icky moments. (If a ghost tries to possess me I just ask that they please don’t make me interested in someone that is entirely inappropriate in so many ways.)

All in all Portraits of Celina was an interesting read.

 

Leave a Reply

