Literary Musings

Social Media: Bookstagram Edition

Social media. It gets a bad rap sometimes. And that makes sense. When you’re posting things online there’s a level of anonymity that makes it so easy to share too much. But I also think, as long as you’re not sharing the most intimate details of your life, that it can be a good thing. Especially if you have a specific reason for using it.

It used to be Facebook was all the rage and I have to admit that I still like to look at my newsfeed. I like knowing what’s going on in the lives of the friends I don’t get to see everyday. But I don’t use it as much as I use other things.

The things I do use frequently include this blog, Twitter, and most recently, Instagram. I basically use all of these things for more or less the same purposes and that’s to share my love of books and writing with the world through pictures and posts. I enjoy reading book reviews, and it certainly helps in my job of ordering books. And even though I am surrounded by books everyday I love seeing interesting pictures of books and people’s libraries.

That is why I recently joined Instagram, because I discovered the tag known as #bookstagram where people literally share thousands of posts of what they are reading and the posts are beautiful. It makes me so happy that so many people share my love of books. I can’t wait to start coming up with some awesome book related posts of my own. And hopefully, someday, people will be sharing posts of books I’ve published šŸ˜‰

So keep reading everyone. And keep postingĀ about it online.Because that’s how we’re going to keep print alive in this day of technological everything. Books and tech can coexist peacefully and beautifully.

Leave a Reply

