Literary Musings

Star Wars

In honor of the Star Wars themed baseball game I’ll be going to later this evening, I decided it was a good time for some Star Wars related thoughts.

Sometime back in high school I got sucked into the Star Wars phenomenon. And yes, I hate to admit it, but it was because of the newer episodes. I liked Natalie Portman as an actress and thought Ewan McGregor was cute and finally watched an entire Star Wars movie when I found The Phantom Menace playing on TV. After that it was over. Now I own most of the movies, have BB-8 magnets and Pop Funkos, and t-shirts and jewelry to let everyone know of my geekery.

This May the 4th the library I work at had a large Star Wars book display up which led me to ordering quite a few of the ones that looked interesting and it got me thinking. How amazing is it that we have fandoms where you can latch onto a movie series you like and then proceed to find comic books/graphic novels, actual full length novels, and merchandise all to immerse yourself even further into the thing you’re interested in? I think it’s really neat that I could watch a Star Wars movie or find a book adaptation of said movie or new books (canon and non-canonical) or fanfiction just because so many people are interested in the same thing. It makes one feel that they definitely are not alone in the world and that’s kind of awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

