Literary Musings · To Read or Not to Read?

Harry Potter Reread. Book 1, Post 1.

In honor of the 20th anniversary of the release of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s (Sorcerer’s) Stone I’ve decided to do a reread of the entire series. I also figured this was a good time to write down some of my thoughts as I go along. So here goes.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone pages 1-65.

  • “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley of number four Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” “There will be books written about Harry. Every child in the world will know his name.”
    • Eek! When I first read these lines nearly two decades ago I had no idea that they would become so important to me. The first line gives me chills and makes me smile because I know I’ve just begun this epic journey. I also can’t believe how true the other line has become throughout the years.
  • With some of these lines and quotes I can’t help but picture the movie and the actors/actresses speaking them. In some cases this might be annoying but when it comes to picturing Dame Maggie Smith as Professor McGonnagall it’s no problem at all.
  • The first appearance of Hagrid! And he mentions Sirius Black! If we’d only known then what we know now. (Also, I’m not crying. You’re crying. Shut up. Leave me alone.)
  • Wait a minute! That’s not the quote that ended up in the movie! They literally changed one word. Why?
  • Once Harry ends up at the Dursley home the plot moves fast which is probably a good thing. Also, I understand that Harry is at the Dursleys for protection and the Squib Arabella Figg is nearby but couldn’t Dumbledore have done more to make sure Harry wasn’t mistreated? Like with magic or something? Instead Harry grows up with no friends and is mistreated. You know, kind of like a certain Tom Riddle was. And we all know how well that turned out.
  • Whoa information drop, Hagrid. I get it, he’s right that Harry should know his own background before he meets other witches and wizards but he’s told about magic and Voldemort over the course of what feels like a ten minute conversation. I feel as though my mind would have just shut down if I’d been faced with so many earth shattering revelations in such a short time.

That’s it for the reread so far! I’ll be back in a day or two with more thoughts on my rereading of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Leave a Reply

