Camp NaNoWriMo 2017: Update 1

So it begins yet again.

Camp National Novel Writing Month. That glorious time where, pretty much like every other month, I give myself an arbitrary word count goal for the month and attempt to reach it. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t and either way nothing really changes. But I do it anyways. I like goals and word counts. I like to keep track of things.

Now the thing about NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo is that, during those months, I at least try to go out of my way to write more than normal. It’s just that during camp the rules are a little less strict and I feel cool counting my novels and fanfiction and blog posts to reach that goal. And I’ve been doing that for the last couple years though it always seems that my word count goals get too lofty for my own good. (Which honestly makes sense. Summer is the worst time for a children’s librarian to try and do an excessive amount of anything.)

But this year may be different and that’s because a silly little TV that I deem one of my guiltiest of guilty pleasures finally ended and it ended ridiculously. Like a “why in the freaking world didn’t you cancel it three years ago instead of turning it into this shit show?” kind of way. But it did give me an idea for a new novel. A new novel that, within just a few hours of my thinking of it, ended up with over four pages of outline. A novel that I am very excited about right now. This means that, between all of my other writing projects that I’m also excited about, I may just make that lofty word count.

Now let’s just hope I can eventually get the same kind of enthusiasm about editing.

Leave a Reply

