Literary Musings

Surprise!!

Writing a novel or a fanfiction for a blog post isn’t always easy because, if you’re not careful, the writing can take on a mind of its own. Case in point, the most recent fanfiction I started writing.

I think I’ve written about this before. That I have two different fanfiction accounts, one for my “regular” stories and one for my less tame ones. Not that I’m ashamed to have people know I write dirty things sometimes, I just feel as though it would be awkward if my family and coworker read them. (Honestly, I can’t imagine how weird it would be to be one of the well-known authors of the super smutty stuff. Imagine what a family holiday would be like if you’re mom/aunt/grandma had read the dirty, dirty things you’d written! So uncomfortable.)

Well, the most recent fanfiction I started writing was supposed to be one of those things that would fall under my pen name that isn’t linked to any of my other social media. It was supposed to be a one shot, smutty Hermione/Draco fic. And now, now it’s taken on a life of it’s own. It has a plot and it has heart and emotion and it’s not what I was planning on at all. It’s taken on a surprise life of it’s own. This would be why I’d feel the need to write an entire series before I started publishing them if I wanted to do a series…I’d be afraid the characters would take my novel and change the series in an entirely different direction than what my writing contract expected.

Leave a Reply

