Literary Musings

10 Favorite Bookish Quotes

October is my birth month! So, like in past Octobers, I’m going to celebrate with some various lists of ten favorite bookish things. This post will be about my current favorite bookish quotes while other posts may involve current favorite characters or books.

Let’s get started! And, in no particular order, these are my current favorite quotes.

  1. “To the stars who listen – and the dreams that are answered.” – Written by Sarah J. Maas for A Court of Mist and Fury and spoken by Rhysand
    • Yes, I am absolutely Maas trash but this is absolutely a quote that speaks to me though I kind of feel like a basic bitch for saying that because I think most ACOTAR fans would say the same. But I like this quote and I kind of made it part of my current Dungeons and Dragons character because a Druid and follows the path of Circle of Stars so…seems logical.
  2. “There are good days and hard days for me – even know. Don’t let the hard days win.” – Written by Sarah J. Maas for A Court of Mist and Fury and spoken by Mor
    • You may sense a theme here with the first two quotes being from, not only the same author, but from the same book. But for anyone who has struggled with mental health, I feel like this is a great quote to remember.
  3. “Libraries were full of ideas – perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.” – Written by Sarah J. Maas for Throne of Glass and spoken by Celaena Sardothien
    • As a librarian in a world where book challenges have become the norm again, I think this is a very important and powerful quote.
  4. “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies…the man who never reads lives only once.” – Written by George R.R. Martin for A Dance With Dragons and spoken by Jojen Reed
    • Absolutely one of my favorite quotes. I even used it as part of my wedding. (I put it on a page that went with a bookmark that I gave out as favors.)
  5. “One must always be careful of books…and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” – Written by Cassandra Clare for Clockwork Angel and spoken by Tessa Gray
    • As a reader and a writer, this quote has always spoken to me.
  6. “Into every generation a Slayer is born: one girl in all the world, a chosen one. She alone will wield the strength and skill to fight the vampires, demons, and the forces of darkness; to stop the spread of their evil and the swell of their number. She is the Slayer.” – The opening narration of Seasons 1 and 2 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    • Okay, okay, okay. I know I originally said this would just be about book quotes but I had to include this one just because Buffy the Vampire Slayer has been such a big part of my life. Literally the entire reason I started reading and writing fanfiction.
  7. “You have me. Until every last star in the galaxy dies, you have me.” – Written by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman for Illuminae and spoken by Ezra Mason
    • This has gotta be one of the sweetest love quotes ever. Just think about it.
  8. “Far over the misty mountains cold/To dungeons deep and caverns old/We must away, ere break of day/To seek our pale enchanted gold…” – Written by J.R.R. Tolkien for The Hobbit and sung by Thorin and the Company
    • I memorized all 44 lines of this poem in eighth grade and have always remembered (mostly correctly_ the first four lines ever since. Definitely one of the starts of my love of fantasy.
  9. “Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” – Written by Neil Gaiman for Coraline
    • I literally used this quote in my college senior seminar.
  10. “Books are a uniquely portable magic.” – Written by Stephen King
    • A very sweet sentiment for any book lover

Leave a comment